There are three different classifications of tests that you will need: Acceptance, Unit and Integration.


           fig: classification of tests in Ember.js 

Acceptance Tests

Acceptance tests are used to test user interaction and application flow. The tests interact with the application in the same ways that a user would, by doing things like filling out form fields and clicking buttons. Acceptance tests ensure that the features within a project are basically functional, and are valuable in ensuring the core features of a project have not regressed, and that the project's goals are being met.

Unit Tests

Unit tests are used to test isolated chunks of functionality, or "units". They can be written against any isolated application logic.

Integration Tests

Integration tests serve as a middle ground between acceptance tests, which only interact with the full system through user endpoints, and unit tests, which interact with specific code algorithms on a micro level. Integration tests verify interactions between various parts of the application, such as behavior between UI controls. They are valuable in ensuring data and actions are properly passed between different parts of the system, and provide confidence that parts of the system will work within the application under multiple scenarios.

It is recommended that components be tested with integration tests because the component interacts with the system in the same way that it will within the context of the application, including being rendered from a template and receiving Ember's lifecycle hooks.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""